Why You Need a Lawyer to Handle Your Traffic Charge
The benefits of obtaining a lawyer for a traffic violation substantially outweigh the risks of not having one. Even a simple speeding ticket can carry serious consequences such as license suspension and orders for arrest if they are not handled properly, not to mention the fact that dealing with a traffic charge is an inconvenient and time consuming hassle. It could cause you to miss school, work, or other obligations when an experienced attorney can handle the ticket without you having to even appear in court.
Parton & Associates, PLLC has handled thousands of traffic tickets in Mecklenburg and surrounding counties, and saves their clients time and money by working with the District Attorney to have the charges against them reduced or dismissed. A knowledgeable and experienced attorney will know the North Carolina traffic and insurance laws and best be able to assist you with your ticket. The lawyers at Parton & Associates, PLLC will negotiate with the State of North Carolina in an honest effort to obtain the best possible resolution for your speeding or traffic ticket. It is in your best interest to obtain a proficient criminal lawyer to help you through the legal process.
In North Carolina, simply just paying the fine is equivalent to pleading guilty. If you are found guilty of a traffic infraction or misdemeanor, you will likely receive driver’s license points, insurance points, and insurance rate increases, and depending on your history, you could receive a license suspension or time in jail.
Common Driver’s License Point Penalties Are:
Conviction Point Values
Aggressive driving 5
Passing a stopped school bus with children 5
Reckless driving 4
Illegal Passing 4
Running through a stop sign 3
Speeding more than 55 mph 3
Expired or no drivers license 3
Speeding through safety zone 3
Littering involving a motor vehicle 1
*Commercial Driver’s License (CDL): If you have a CDL and receive a traffic violation then the points assigned to that conviction will likely increase.
Insurance Points: In North Carolina, insurance companies follow the Safe Driver Incentive Plan (SDIP).
Drivers who are convicted of moving traffic violations and/or who cause accidents will be charged higher premiums in accordance with their driving records. SDIP points are charged as follows for convictions and at-fault accidents during a three-year period:
Points Percentage Increase
Insurance Points Offenses Here are some of the offenses North Carolina has listed as causes for an insured to receive insurance points:
Manslaughter or negligent homicide resulting from the operation of a motor vehicle
Prearranged highway racing or knowingly lending a motor vehicle to be used in a prearranged race
Hit and run resulting in bodily injury or death
Driving with a blood-alcohol level of .08 or more
Driving a commercial vehicle with a blood-alcohol level of .04 or more
Driving While Impaired
Transporting illegal intoxicating liquors for sale
Highway racing or lending a car for highway racing
Speeding to elude arrest
Operating a motor vehicle during a period of revocation or the driver’s license or vehicle registration.
Hit and run resulting in property damage only
Passing a stopped school bus
Speeding in excess of 75 mph when posted limit is less that 70 mph
Speeding in excess of 80 mph when posted limit is 70 mph or greater
Driving by a person under 21 after consuming alcohol or drugs
Each at-fault accident that results in bodily injury (in excess of $1,8000.00) or total property damage (including the
insured’s property) of $3,000.00
Speeding more than 10 mph over the limit, if total speed was in excess of 55 mph but less than 76 mph
Speeding 10 miles or less in excess of a speed zone of 55 mph or greater
Following too closely
Driving on the wrong side of the road
Each at-fault accident that results in total damage to all property, which is in excess of $1,800.00 less than $3,000.00
Speeding 10 mph or less in excess of speed limit of less than 55 mph*
Each at-fault accident that results in total damage of $1,800.00 less*
Any other moving violation
** Points are not assigned for these violations unless the same driver has been convicted of at least one other moving violation during the experience period (the last three years).
Speeding 10 mph or less in excess over the posted speed limit provided the violation did not occur in a school zone
and there is not another moving violation for the experience period (an isolated PJC will not count as a prior conviction for the purpose of this exception)
For More Information On Defending Your Traffic Citation
Please contact us at 704-376-4488 and let us help you understand the law and how it may apply to you. The attorneys at Parton & Associates, PLLC welcomes the opportunity to work with you and assist you during this process.